Histories of the Summer Student: Part I

Note: this blog post was submitted by Rick, our summer assistant at Mermaid Theatre, who unfortunately missed his first day due to a terrible case of the flu. This is part one of a series, apparently — Jason.


 

My commencement at the Mermaid Theatre of Nova Scotia, as their summer student, was much anticipated.

Having returned in April to my homeland from imparting my wisdom, knowledge and disposition to the newest generation of Korean progenies across the seas I was eager to embark on another adventure. After my homecoming I promptly set out to seek my fortune as a member of the celebrated workforce of Nova Scotia.

After a month of searching was able to procure an interview at Mermaid Theatre with the luminous general manager, Lisa Gleave. Two days following (a lifetime to be sure), I received an audible message confirming my appointment as the summer student commencing June 2nd. I spent the subsequent weeks putting my affairs in order and delighting myself by reuniting with estranged friends.

On the eve of my inauguration I busied myself with the task of setting out my finest “business casual” garments and preparing a picnic lunch; the town of Windsor has a myriad of fine outdoor spaces for one to spend an hour out of doors in quiet repose. It was in these moments of preparation when the most dastardly of illnesses sprung upon me (I was no doubt purposefully infected my the youngest member of my eldest sister’s brood.) For hours my body reeled through feverish fits. I finally resolved to inform my employers of my unquestionably fatal situation; I sent an electronic letter to my future mentor, Jason Tucker, and slipped back into my feverish nightmares.

I woke, to my surprise, and finding myself still very much alive, albeit in a dwindling state, I set upon nursing myself back to relative health. Spurred on by the encouragement and well wishes of my new employers, sent that very morn, I endeavoured to vanquish the remnants of illness from me. With my sickbed as my vessel, chicken noodle soup as the wind in my sails, and Mermaid Theatre as my destination; I set my heading and soared towards my own recovery.

IMG308The following morning, still fatigued, I began my expedition, with my trusty companion (of whom I will speak more of in subsequent entries), to the town of Windsor and my bright future.

After passing the ascetic MIPAC entrance I arrived at the façade of the main offices. Upon entering the Mermaid Theatre foyer I was greeted by a particularly friendly and scholarly dinosaur (some hyper-intelligent raptor of sorts). To my left I hearkened, “you must be Rick… the new summer student”.

End of Part I

Comments are closed.